Song:

Monsters of the North by The National Parks.

Story:

When I was in Utah earlier this month, my friend introduced me to this band, The National Parks. She explained that they are a band composed of mormon folks based out of Provo. I had never heard of a mormon musician before, and was hesitant to think their music would be relatable to me. I was wrong. We listened to their album on our drive out to Antelope Island and it was the perfect road trip music.

Since then I have been hooked, and showing it to as many people as I can. The band sounds like some combination of The Lumineers and Of Monsters and Men – folky and soulful. What I love about this song in particular is its playfulness. Plus, they mention being wolves howling at the moon, and I truly hope to be reincarnated as a wolf in my next life. What you manifest is before you, right?

I have found my friends who like a wide array of music can all find connections and favorites on the album, which is rare. Road trip music has a particular sound – catchy, mellow, and sing-along-able. This entire album sounds like one cohesive song; it truly has everything you want in an album.

Honorable Mentions:

You are Gold, Anywhere

 

 

 

