As many of you know, I have a slight infatuation with Christmas and a major affinity for elf culture. A lot of people ask me why that is, so I thought I would take a moment to reflect.

As much as I love gift-giving and Santa, there is much more to it. This time of year can be extremely fun for people, but it can also be extremely difficult. I think what makes this season truly magical is the resilience people demonstrate throughout it. They find a way to make the most of what they have and find happiness in simple treasures.

I never remember the presents I get each year; I do always remember the experiences I had and those with whom I shared them. (Don’t worry Mere, I will never forget the 5 pound bag of Sour Patch Watermelon you got me). Whether it’s our annual venture up to Leavenworth, going to Snowflake Lane, or just having the family all in one place – it’s the simple traditions that keep the Christmas spirit alive for me.

I love the joy in the air and its permeating effect on those around. I always say Christmas is more than just a day; it is a lifestyle choice. (Still trying to figure out a design for a tasteful Christmas tat – ideas welcome.) Christmas serves as an annual reminder to be grateful for what is and work towards what you want.

Whether you find this time of year enjoyable, try to avoid it, or somewhere in between, it is a wonderful time reach out to others, adventure, and spend as much time in the snow as possible. And that goes for all denominations – not just those who celebrate Christmas. It’s the end of the year, the coldest time of year, and generally the most stressful time of year. Take a moment. Reflect. Give gratitude. 

It’s been a year full of transition and introspection, and I couldn’t have asked for better people to surround myself with. Cheers to another year, and Merry Christmas to all  

Below are  pictures of some of my favorite aspects of Christmas in Washington. What are some of yours? I would love to hear them!

leavenworth

snowflake lane.jpg

pike-place

harry-potter

