A moment of silence for the greatest show of all time – Gilmore Girls

gilmore-girls

I was raised on this show – watching it every Tuesday night with my mom until it ended around the time I began high school. The revival was everything I wanted, yet not enough. Then again, Gilmore Girls could go on the rest of my life and I would still want more.

Fun fact: If I had been a boy, my parents would have named me Rory. I have always loved the idea of  naming my daughter Lorelai (Rory for short), because it represents an unbreakable bond that I have had the privilege to form with my own mother.

I wanted to share the two biggest things I learned from this show, which were solidified while watching (and rewatching…about 445 times) the revival.

  1. “He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else.” – Benjamin Franklin.

Let’s all say it together: Logan & Christopher have always been and will always be the absolute worst. The WORST.

Sure, they tried, and at a quick glance, they appeared invested in the women they claimed to be their soulmates. But they were always one foot in and one foot out, asking the Gilmore Girls to jump through hoops and off of buildings (literally) for them. And here’s the thing – Logan and Christopher never thought anything was their fault.

logan and chris.jpg

Surprise surprise, they don’t like each other.

They brooded about having so many problems and no solutions. I’m sorry Logan, but the world has bigger issues than you not wanting to inherit daddy’s fortune. Besides, Christopher tried to defy his family wishes, only to concede and become the obedient son for which the family had always hoped. If that isn’t foreshadowing of Logan’s future, I don’t know what is.  These two guys could never get it together, because they were not willing to make sacrifices. The two of them always blamed others (usually Lorelai or Rory) for their alcoholism, infidelity, distress, turmoil, and any other problem which they encountered.

These aren’t problems, gentlemen. These are circumstances – ADJUST ACCORDINGLY. Problems have solutions – circumstances do not. And when there is no solution, we must adjust to, embrace, and move forward with the circumstance. But Logan and Christoper never did, and it cost them the Gilmore Girls.

Gold star for effort, you two.

Lesson learned: Stop making excuses, start making commitments.

2. No matter how many time we burst into flames, we can always rise from the ashes.

I, as all the other correct GG fans, am diehard Team Jess. He went from a high school drop out who didn’t know what a smile was, to a successful author who values his family. Talk about a total 180.

The sweetest GG scene of ALL TIME. Gah.

Jess shows us that “rock bottom is the solid foundation on which we build our lives.” -J.K. Rowling. We saw him hit it time and time again – he started there when he moved in with Luke, he revisited it when he ran away from Luke’s, and found it again when he told Rory he loved her, asked her move away with him, she said no, and then he *surprise* ran away again. Along the way, he somehow proved to be the only boyfriend that loved and respected Rory enough to push her to become the person she’s meant to be.

jess

THIS LOOK. I SOBBED.

Gilmore Girls has always been one of my biggest inspirations for resilience. Seeing Rory struggle was important for me as I began my own journey in college which proved more tumultuous than expected.  I needed to see her fall from her horse and be able to get back on the saddle. I needed to know that was possible.

But the most important lesson I learned was that no one is an island – Rory could not have accomplished nearly as much as she did without her amazing support system, namely Lorelai. Together, Rory and Lorelai personified resilience. I am indebted to these fictional characters who taught me how family can become friends and friends can become family – with a sense of humor, wit, and a HUGE cup of coffee.

Mom, thank you for always helping me get back on the saddle. I wouldn’t be who or where I am today without your love, support, and impromptu dance parties.

