My brothers and I are each pretty different, but the one thing we always have had in common is our love of music. Connor is our music mentor; he has a deep set passion for music and an art for finding the best songs – anything he likes, Patrick and I are sure to love. I am kind of all over the place, but rap and dark pop are my go-to’s. Patrick is the aux cord master – he always knows the right tunes to spin for the right crowd.

I went to the RÜFÜS DU SOL (known as RUFUS in every other country) show with my brothers this Thanksgiving break. When the following song came on, the energy of the crowd became tantric, clearly making it this week’s hit replay feature:

Innerbloom by RÜFÜS DU SOL.

The vocalist explained that their band name represents the happy place they can always escape to when they need a release (that sounds like a drug reference but it really is not).

It is only in the last year or so that my brothers and I put 2 and 2 together – realizing we were each other’s ideal concert buddies. Last year, we went to our first music festival together – an international one! We traveled to Vancouver, BC for Contact Music Festival right before New Year’s. We probably won’t go again (all ages shows are a bit much), but I am so glad I got to experience it with my best friends. We got to explore a new city, be merry, and rage together to some of our favorite DJs.

Since then, we have always tried to see a show together when everyone is home, which is becoming increasingly rare as our adult-ing picks up.

When I think of our sibling-ship, I think of the following quote:

where-words-fail

Being in three different states for all but two weeks a year can be taxing on relationships, but my brothers and I have found ourselves more bonded. We make more of an effort to reach out, and, of course, exchange music. Instead of the dull “Hey how are you doing?”, we can always shoot each other a song and the sentiment is the same. We can’t always find the words or the energy, but we can always find a rhythm – our rhythm. 

Music is our language – and these two wild, annoying, hilarious, loving brothers will always be my people.

 

 

