I can honestly say that knowing you, I have been changed for the better, for the more determined, and for good.


Dear Chloe,                      February 15, 2013.

chloe 2013
January 2013 – AKA Interterm, AKA same hair color, AKA spending every waking moment together, and making the most of my last month at Chapman.

I started this letter at the beginning of interterm with the intention of giving it to you before I left, but I never could seem to bring myself to sit down and finish it. Writing this letter made everything feel so final, so real. Now that I have had a few weeks at home to collect myself, I feel better about writing it—because I know this is not a goodbye letter. This is a thank you letter.

I don’t know really know where to begin, mainly because I wish I didn’t have to write it. I know that leaving Chapman was that right decision for where I am at this point in my life, but that doesn’t mean it was easy. The past 12 months have been the most difficult thing I have ever endured. I put myself through Hell, and consequently—the people who mean the most to me as well. I want to thank you for standing by me, and standing up for me. I can imagine at times it was hard to have to defend someone who is supposed to be your mentor. For that, I honestly cannot thank you enough.

I recall the day after Airbands when you surprised me and brought a Panini to my dorm room. I was in shock that anyone would come to my side, and I had been in bed in a terrible head space. This was such a pivotal and defining moment in our friendship for me. You proved that even when I had hit rock bottom and was not an ideal person to be affiliated with, you didn’t care. You were there to listen, to advise, and most importantly, to make me laugh. Words cannot describe how happy I am to have met you, to have taken you as my little, and to have become best friends. I cannot imagine life without you. You have one of the most infectious laughs, and it is pretty much impossible to be upset in your presence. Within 20 minutes of talking with you I always forget why I was moping—there is no way I could be sad with this much damn laughter. Amidst all my pain, you were my blessing. I can honestly say that knowing you, I have been changed for the better, for the more determined, and for good. I love you Chloe. This isn’t goodbye, this is just until next time.

There is one thing I want to leave you with, actually, the most important thing: I want you to know is that not everyone you love is going to leave you. Although technically I am quite a ways away, please know I will always have your back, and I am only a phone call (or fabulous Skype session) away. I have a good feeling that life/fate/God/SOMETHING will bring us back together someday.

“Everything changes, but one remains the same, together till the end, you really are my best friend.”

All my love,

Tara

chloe 2017
March 2017 – My birthday party that included our three favorite things: dance floors, tequila, and each other. 
